Agenda Item 7

Committee/Group Membership and Temporary Governance Arrangements



Paper for decision

- 1. <u>Introduction</u>
 - 1.1 The biennial review of positions and Committee/Group membership is scheduled to take place at the December 2020 Board meeting.
 - 1.2 It was agreed at the Monday 14th September 2020 Board meeting that the temporary COVID-19 Governance arrangements would be also be reviewed at this time.
- 2. <u>Recommendations</u>
 - 2.1 That the following COVID-19 temporary governance arrangements come to an end with effect from 7 December 2020:
 - a) The temporary appointments of Heather Reid as an additional Vice-Convener, Claire Chapman as Acting Vice-Chair of Planning and Access Committee, and Christopher Spray as an additional Vice-Chair of Audit and Risk Committee.
 - 2.2 That resulting from the ongoing Coronavirus pandemic:
 - b) The provisions of Standing Order 25 continue to apply, and Board, Committee, and Local Review Body meetings will continue to held virtually, until government restrictions on physical distancing are lifted such that in person meetings can be held safely.
 - 2.3 Members are invited to approve the following appointments and committee memberships:
 - a) <u>Depute Convener: Willie Nisbet</u>
 For a period of 2 years to the December 2022 Board meeting. Note that Willie Nisbet's current Board term ends 6th July 2022 and that should he not be reappointed to the Board following that date, we would undertake a process to identify a new Depute Convener at that time.
 - b) <u>Membership of the Planning & Access Committee</u>: Term automatically ends with the individual members' current Board term. As per membership outlined in section 5 of the report.

Agenda Item 7

Committee Membership

- c) <u>Depute Chair of the Planning and Access Committee</u>: Claire Chapman For a period of 2 years to the December 2022 Board meeting. Note that Claire Chapman's current Board term ends 31st October 2022 and that should this appointment not be extended, we would undertake a process to identify a new Depute Chair of the Planning & Access Committee at that time.
- d) <u>Membership of Audit & Risk Committee</u>: Term automatically ends with the individual members' current Board term. As per membership outlined in section 5 of the report.
- e) <u>Chair of Audit & Risk Committee</u>: Ronnie Erskine For a period of 2 years to the December 2022 Board meeting. Note that Ronnie Erskine's current Board term ends 31st October 2022 and that should this appointment not be extended, we would undertake a process to identify a new Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee at that time.
- f) <u>Depute Chair of Audit & Risk Committee</u>: Chris Spray For a period of 2 years to the December 2022 Board meeting. Note that Chris Spray's current Board term ends 31st October 2022 and that should this appointment not be extended, we would undertake a process to identify a new Depute Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee at that time.
- g) <u>Membership of the Futures Group</u>: Term automatically ends with the individual members' current Board term. As per membership outlined in section 5 of the report.
- h) <u>Chair of the Futures Group (subject to Board approval of the formation of this group)</u>: Martin Earl
 For a period of 2 years to the December 2022 Board meeting. Note that Martin Earl's current Board term ends 6th July 2022 and that should he not be reappointed to the Board following that date, we would undertake a process to identify a new Chair of the Futures Group at that time.
- Depute Chair of the Futures Group (subject to Board approval of the formation of this group): Sarah Drummond
 For a period of 2 years to the December 2022 Board meeting. Note that Sarah Drummond's current Board term ends 31st October 2022 and that should this appointment not be extended, we would undertake a process to identify a new Depute Chair of the Futures Group at that time.

Agenda Item 7

Committee Membership

3. Contribution to National Park Partnership Plan and Our 5-year Plan

3.1 Proactively ensuring that there is appropriate membership of committees/groups and that these function effectively supports good governance which underpins all Outcomes and Priorities of the National Park Partnership Plan and Our 5-year Plan 2018-23.

4. Background

- 4.1 The nominations process was as outlined in the <u>Board Standing Orders</u> under the section 'Chairing of Meetings; and Election and Removal of Convener/ Depute Convener and Chair/Depute Chair of Committees and Groups'
- 4.2 No contested nominations were received for each of the proposed roles outlined in section 2.1.
- 4.3 All Board members were contacted to confirm their Committee/Group preferences.

5. Nominations and Committee/Group Membership

5.1 All nominations received were valid. The nominations are as follows:

Depute Convener: Willie Nisbet

Planning & Access Committee*

Chair: Bob Darracott Depute Chair: Claire Chapman Members: Willie Nisbet David McCowan Martin Earl Murray Lyle Diane Doherty Ronnie Erskine Chris Spray Iain Shonny Paterson Bobby Good Graham Lambie

*Bob Darracott was appointed to the role of Chair at the Monday 14th September 2020 Board Meeting. All Members of the Planning & Access Committee also sit on the Local Review Body as outlined in the Planning & Access Committee Standing Orders.

Agenda Item 7

Committee Membership

Audit	&	Risk	Committee	
/ tuult	<u>~</u>	1,101	0011111111000	

Chair:	Ronnie Erskine
Depute Chair:	Chris Spray
Members:	David McCowan
	Danny Gibson
	Heather Reid
	Graham Lambie
Futures Group	
Chair:	Martin Earl
Depute Chair:	Sarah Drummond
Members:	Bob Darracott

Billy Ronald Heather Reid

6. Chairs & Executive Group

- 6.1. The Terms of Reference of the Chairs & Executive Group set out its membership, which includes the Convener, Depute Convener, Chairs of all Committees and Groups, and the Executive Team. Other members can also be co-opted to the Group.
- 6.2. At this time the Board Champion for the Youth Committee, Heather Reid, will be coopted onto the Chairs & Executive Group.
- 6.3. The resulting membership of the Chairs & Executive Group (as per its Terms of Reference) is as follows:

Convener	James Stuart
Depute Convener	Willie Nisbet
Chair of Audit & Risk Committee	Ronnie Erskine
Chair of Futures Group	Martin Earl
Chair of Planning & Access Committee	Bob Darracott
Board Champion for the Youth Committee	Heather Reid
Chief Executive Officer	Gordon Watson
Head of Communications	Anna McLean
Director of Corporate Services	Pete Wightman
Director of Rural Development & Planning	Stuart Mearns
Director of Conservation & Visitor Operations	Simon Jones

Agenda Item 7

Committee Membership

7. <u>Conclusion</u>

7.1 Members are asked to approve the outlined appointments and membership of the Committees/Groups, dissolution of the temporary governance arrangements and continuation of the use of Standing Order 25.

Author: Sharon McIntyre, Committee Officer Executive Sponsor: Pete Wightman, Director of Corporate Services