

Committee Membership Update

Agenda Item 6

National Park Authority Board Meeting 11 March 2024

Paper for decision

1.	Purpose	1
2.	Recommendation(s)	1
3.	Contribution to National Park Partnership Plan and/or Our 5-year Plan	2
4.	Background	2
5.	Risks	2
6.	Next steps	. 2

1. Purpose

1.1. The purpose of this agenda item is to update our committee and group membership following the recent appointment to the Board of two new Members and the departure of one of the Local Authority nominees from Stirling Council and the conclusion of the Board Shadowing Pilot Project.

2. Recommendation(s)

2.1. To approve the following Committee and Group membership, with immediate effect until 9th December 2024 (additions to current membership in bold):

Planning and Access	Audit and Risk	Futures Group
Committee	Committee	
Claire Chapman	Ronnie Erskine	Sarah Drummond
William Sinclair	David Mackie	Rhona Brock
Richard Johnson	Maurice Corry	Sid Perrie
Chris Spray	Chris Spray	Martin Earl
Ronnie Erskine	David Fettes	Chris Kane
Martin Earl	William Sinclair	
David Mackie		
David Fettes		
Iain Shonny Paterson		
Hazel Sorrell		
Colin Lee		

2.2. To approve the appointment of David Fettes as the Board's representative on the Local Access Forum with immediate effect until 9th December 2024, following the departure from the Board of the previous representative, Zain Sehgal.

3. Contribution to National Park Partnership Plan and/or Our 5-year Plan

3.1. Ensuring that Board governance positions are filled in line with the relevant processes and that there is appropriate membership of committees/groups which allows them to function effectively supports good governance which underpins all Outcomes and Priorities of the National Park Partnership Plan and Our 5-year Plan 2018-23.

4. Background

- 4.1. Appointments to all Board committees and groups was last undertaken and approved at the December 2022 Board Meeting on a two-year basis, due for re-appointment at the December 2024 Board Meeting.
- 4.2. Following the departure of Cllr Gerry McGarvey from the Board, vacant spaces were created on the Planning and Access Committee and Futures Group
- 4.3. Colin Lee and Cllr Chris Kane have been appointed to the Board in the time since committee membership was last approved by Members.

5. Risks

5.1. There is an organisational governance risk associated with failing to ensure elected Board leadership positions are filled and that committee and groups have appropriate membership arrangements which allow them to function effectively.

6. Next steps

- 6.1. Committee and Group meeting invitations will be updated to reflect the new memberships and Chairs will be in touch with newly appointed Members to discuss any questions or training needs.
- 6.2. Following approval of Futures Group membership, nominations will open from within the Membership for the role of Depute Chair, which was vacated following the departure of Cllr Gerry McGarvey and which has been filled on a temporary basis by Cllr Martin Earl. This appointment will run until December 2024.

6.3. Committee Membership and leadership positions will be revisited at the December 2024 Board Meeting following a nomination period and opportunity for Members to express committee and group preferences, in line with the process outlined at the December 2022 Board Meeting.

Author(s): Douglas Smith, Corporate Performance Manager **Executive Sponsor**: Jane Kemp, Head of Governance and Performance