Skip to navigation

Successful candidates announced in National Park elections

Five members have been elected to the Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park Authority Board following a vote by local residents.

An election count was held at National Park Authority Headquarters in Balloch on Thursday (5th July 2018), where the successful candidates in the local Board member elections were announced:

  • Bob Darracott was elected in Ward 1 (Cowal and North Loch Lomond) with 113 votes. Now retired, Bob previously held the role of Director of Planning, Transport and Development for Renfrewshire Council.
  • Billy Ronald was re-elected in Ward 2 (Breadalbane and the Trossachs) with 321 votes. Billy remains on the Board having previously been elected in October 2015.
  • Martin Earl was elected in Ward 3 (Callander) with 340 votes. Martin previously sat on the Board as a local authority nominated member from 2012-2017.
  • Willie Nisbet was re-elected in Ward 4 (East Loch Lomond and Port of Menteith) with 457 votes. Willie has sat on the Board as a locally elected member since 2006.
  • David McCowan was re-elected in Ward 5 (West Loch Lomond and Balloch) with 242 votes. David has sat on the Board as a locally elected member since 2010.

The National Park Authority Board is responsible for making strategic decisions for the Park and has an important role to play in ensuring the National Park Authority deliver its key aims.

Voting in the election, which takes place every four years via postal ballot, was open to all those who live in the National Park and are aged over 16 years old. Turnout across the Park was 33%.

The election was organised by Stirling Council on behalf of the National Park Authority. Depute Returning Officer Iain Strachan presided over the count proceedings and announced the successful candidates, who were congratulated by National Park Authority Board Convener James Stuart.

James Stuart said: “I am delighted that so many people who live, work and have an interest in this beautiful part of Scotland took the time to put themselves forward as a candidate or have their say on who should make the important decisions here in the Park.

“Congratulations to those successful candidates who have been re-elected to the National Park Authority Board and also welcome to Bob Darracott and Martin Earl who re-joins the Board in his new capacity. Board members play a crucial role in helping to steer the strategic direction of the National Park and our locally-elected members’ knowledge and expertise make a crucial contribution to our decision-making process. I look forward to working with them over the next four years to continue making our National Park a great place to live, work and visit.”

The newly elected members will take up their duties with immediate effect and their term will run until July 2022.

Back to top
Skip to content