Skip to navigation

National Park Election Candidates Announced

The candidates standing in local elections to become Board members for Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park have been announced.

The National Park Authority local elections will recruit five members of the Park Authority Board.

The Board is responsible for making strategic decisions for the Park and has an important part to play in helping to deliver the National Park Authority’s key aims.

Nominations to stand for election to the Board closed on Thursday 31st May. Residents of the National Park now have the opportunity to have their say on who joins the Board in a postal ballot to choose five locally elected members – one for each of the five wards in the Park.

The candidates in each ward are:

Ward 1 – Cowal and North Loch Lomond:

  • Ali Campbell
  • Bob Darracott
  • Rob Donkin
  • George Freeman
  • Donald Illingworth
  • Maria Jemicz
  • Gary Pollock
  • Dan Romani
  • Gary Watson

Ward 2 – Breadalbane and the Trossachs:

  • Owen McKee
  • Phill Ragsdell
  • Billy Ronald
  • Tim Tindle

Ward 3 – Callander:

  • Jack Black
  • Martin Earl
  • Chris Martin
  • John Watson

Ward 4 – East Loch Lomond and Port of Menteith:

  • Bob Hunter
  • Willie Nisbet

Ward 5 – West Loch Lomond and Balloch:

  • Gwen Jones-Edwards
  • Ronnie McColl
  • David McCowan
  • Gavin David Monson
  • Iain Shonny Paterson

Convener of the National Park Authority, James Stuart, said: “The National Park Board plays a crucial role in setting the strategic direction of the National Park Authority and our locally-elected Board members’ knowledge and expertise make a significant contribution to the decision-making process. It’s a privilege to contribute to the safekeeping of this special part of Scotland, so I wish everyone standing in these elections the best of luck.

“I would encourage everyone eligible to take a few moments to read through each candidate’s statement in your Ward and cast your vote. This is your opportunity to choose the candidate who is right for your National Park, so don’t miss out on the chance to have your say.”

There will now be a postal ballot, which is being organised by Stirling Council on behalf of the National Park. Voters will shortly receive a ballot paper and the nomination statements of each of the candidates to help them decide who to vote for.

Anyone over 16 years old who lives in the National Park area and is registered to vote by Friday 8th June can have their say in these elections.

Ballots will be issued from Thursday 14th June and must be returned by post in the prepaid envelope provided before 4pm on Thursday 5th July 2018.

The election count will take place at the National Park Authority Headquarters on Thursday 5 July 2018 and those elected will take up their posts as Board members immediately after the result. The term in office is until 6 July 2022.

For more information on the Board elections, visit

Back to top
Skip to content