Skip to navigation

Our Board

Our Board agree the overall direction of the Park Authority. They also oversee the work of the Chief Executive and National Park staff.



Our Board has seventeen members:

Five members elected by postal ballot of the local electorate. Shonny Paterson, David Fettes, Richard Johnson, David Mackie and Sid Perrie were elected on 7 July 2022. Their term of office runs until July 2026.

These members represent the five wards in the National Park. They bring to the board their valuable understanding and perspective of the Park’s local businesses and communities, and also champion, represent and help deliver our objectives within the Wards they represent.

Six members appointed by Scottish Ministers (following assessment of applicants in accordance with the rules issued by the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments in Scotland).

They bring a national perspective to the board and specific expertise from a range of subjects relevant to the Park, such as: nature conservation; outdoor recreation; rural business development and enterprise; planning and land use; education; communication; and business management. Ministerial appointees also represent and champion the interests and objectives of the Park Authority on national forums, with national partners and at Government level.

Six members appointed by Scottish Ministers following nomination by the Local Authorities within National Park boundaries (Argyll and Bute, Stirling, West Dunbartonshire, and Perth and Kinross).

These Members cement the key strategic relationship between us and our partner local authorities. Local authority appointees champion and deliver our objectives in the local authorities they represent and bring the local authority perspective and expertise to our Board.

We also have a Board Member taking part in the Boardroom Apprentice scheme to diversify the thinking of the Board and open up boardroom opportunities.  They will be working with the Board until the end of December 2024.

Back to menu

Role of our Board Members

Our Board members are tasked with ensuring effective and proper governance of our organisation. They are also ambassadors for the National Park and Park Authority in any forum they attend.

Back to menu

Members' Code of Conduct

Our Members’ Code of Conduct follows the model Code of Conduct approved by the Scottish Parliament; this is produced in line with the Ethical Standards in Public Life etc. (Scotland) Act 2000.

The Standards Commission for Scotland is responsible for the enforcement of this code and has available to it the sanctions described in Annex A of the code. The Standards Commission is an independent body that encourages high ethical standards in public life through the promotion and enforcement of Codes of Conduct for Councillors and Members of Devolved Public Bodies and will investigate complaints about alleged misconduct by Members.

Further information about the Act and the Commission is available from the following sources:

The Office of Administration and Hearings
The Standards Commission for Scotland
Forsyth House
Innova Campus
Rosyth Europarc
KY11 2UU
Tel: 01383 428061
Fax: 01383 428020

A copy of the Ethical Standards in Public Life etc. (Scotland) Act 2000 is available from the Stationery Office (ISBN 0- 10-591008-2) and on the Stationery Office website at:

Back to menu

Standards of Conduct

Our Members are required to make a full public disclosure of any interests that bear on their general role on the Board, this information is posted on our website.

Board members will be expected to observe the National Park Authority’s Code of Conduct. The Code of Conduct is based on the nine key principles of conduct underpinning public life:

  • Selflessness
  • Integrity
  • Objectivity
  • Accountability and stewardship
  • Openness
  • Honesty
  • Leadership
  • Public service
  • Respect

For further details of how these principles apply, please see On Board: Guide for Board Members of Public Bodies in Scotland.

Back to menu
Back to top
Skip to content