Skip to navigation

Board Elections 2018

Nominations to stand for election to the National Park Authority Board closed on Thursday 31st May 2018. A postal ballot will now take place to determine five locally elected members who will join our Board this summer.

Your candidates

For these elections, the National Park has been split into five Electoral Wards.

The nominees for each of the Wards are listed below:

Ward 1 – Cowal and North Loch Lomond:

  • Ali Campbell
  • Bob Darracott
  • Rob Donkin
  • George Freeman
  • Donald Illingworth
  • Maria Jemicz
  • Gary Pollock
  • Dan Romani
  • Gary Watson

Download the statements for each candidate in Ward 1 here.

Ward 2 – Breadalbane and the Trossachs:

  • Owen McKee
  • Phill Ragsdell
  • Billy Ronald
  • Tim Tindle

Download the statements for each candidate in Ward 2 here.

Ward 3 – Callander:

  • Jack Black
  • Martin Earl
  • Chris Martin
  • John Watson

Download the statements for each candidate in Ward 3 here.

Ward 4 – East Loch Lomond and Port of Menteith:

  • Bob Hunter
  • Willie Nisbet

Download the statements for each candidate in Ward 4 here.

Ward 5 – West Loch Lomond and Balloch:

  • Gwen Jones-Edwards
  • Ronnie McColl
  • David McCowan
  • Gavin David Monson
  • Iain Shonny Paterson

Download the statements for each candidate in Ward 5 here.

What happens now?

There will now be a postal ballot, which is being organised by Stirling Council on behalf of the National Park. Stirling Council Chief Executive, Stewart Carruth, is the Returning Officer.

Voters will receive a ballot paper and the nomination statements of each of the candidates in your Ward to help you decide who to vote for. Look out for this arriving in the post after Thursday 14th June 2018.

To have your say, make sure you complete your ballot and return it in the pre-paid envelope provided before 4pm on Thursday 5th July 2018.

Votes will be counted at the National Park HQ in Balloch on the evening of 5th July. All candidates will be invited to attend the count. The candidates with the highest number of votes in each Ward will be announced that evening and they will immediately begin their term as National Park Authority Board members.

Who can vote?

Voting is open to anyone living in the National Park who is over 16 years old and was registered to vote before 4pm on Friday 8th June 2018.

For more information on the National Park Authority Board Elections, please contact

Scottish Government is also recruiting five ministerial appointed places on our Board this summer. Find out more about applying for a post on the Scottish Government Public Appointments website.

Back to top